5th Annual Student Film Competition Winners & Scholarship Awardees

Share this:


Second prize to Catherine Crabtree from Lake Highlands High School for “Prepared Not Scared”

  • Scholarship awarded: $750 

Third Prize to Avery Nichols from Irma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School for “Welcome to Sex Ed”

  • Scholarship awarded: $500

The Ntarupt Staff Prize (a new award this year) to Erin Crittendon from Carter High School and Kennedy Wooten from Duncanville High School for “Sex News”

A few event highlights:

  • More than 150 teens, supporters, city leaders attended to be part of the premiere of sex ed short films produced and edited by Dallas High School Students on the topic of “what you wish an adult would have told you about sex.”
  • The premiere was preceded by a red carpet entrance for actors, teens, and supporters, and followed by a panel discussion emceed by Dallas International Film Festival Artistic Director James Faust with a local teen, one of the film’s actors, and Ntarupt’s program director.
  • This year, Ntarupt’s Community Advocate Award went to Dallas Philanthropist Gary Ahr and honored Dallas’ Lincoln Humanities and Communications Magnet.

The 5th Annual Student Film Competition is the next phase of Talk About It Dallas, the provocative campaign Ntarupt launched in February to address the alarming Dallas teen birth rate. The campaign aims to change attitudes and behaviors of teens parents and the general public about teen pregnancy to ultimately reduce Dallas County’s teen birth rate by 50% by 2022 in Dallas County’s 12 zip codes with the highest teen birth rates